Madame was so Stewpid in class

Madame was so Stewpid in class

Postby luddite lady on 18 May 2008 00:59

My two worlds collided Friday in my grade 8 French class, with pretty amusing effect. As an elementary school French teacher, I teach a bunch of different grades and classes everyday. This means I teach the same kids for 4 or 5 years straight as they progress through the grades. I've been teaching my 8's for four years and have a really good rapport with them.
So, it's the Friday before a long weekend and these kids will be graduating from the school in a few weeks, and we'd all rather be elsewhere. But, we're making a valiant effort of having a real class. We're reading aloud this pirate story (yeah, lame) and we get to this line about a pirate with "un message dans une bouteille". (Yup, a message in a bottle) One girl that I've always had a soft spot for calls out in English, "Message in a Bottle...I love that song!" I smile and reply in English, "Ah, don't get me started!"
Another kid calls out, "The guitar in that song kicks!"
A third kid starts singing the chorus, but is singing, "un message dans une bouteille."
I start cracking up, while at the same time being amazed by these kids. My daughter is their age and, despite being *my* daughter, knows less about this stuff than these guys.
I try to get the class back on track, but the girl says, "Madame, there's something you're hiding from us. It's more than just liking the song. Oh, Madame, you have a crush on one of The Police, don't you!"
I say no, but I feel my face getting hot and realize that I have gone beet red. Even my ears are burning. I try to control my blushing, but that's impossible. Damn hormones. I have the undivided attention of every child in that class. I never get that level of focus when I'm trying to teach them something.
The girl says, "It's Sting. Madame loves Sting!"
Since I've been reduced to a giggly twelve year old, my only reply is, "Sting!?! Yuck!"